Mineral Wise – Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Foundation Review

Have you tried mineral makeup in pressed form? I won Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Mineral foundation in a giveaway by SkinCareRX for sponsored bloggers. I am supposed to do a review on it so here it is.


While I am not new to minerals, this is the first time I got to try it in a pressed form. I was introduced to minerals by a nurse esthetician during the mid – late 90s when mineral makeup was still considered a niche market and was not available for purchase in the mass market. It was sold only in places where they carried clinical skincare like Obagi or M.D. Forte. Today, mineral makeup is not only available everywhere and making big waves but also showing signs that it’s here to stay. Jane Iredale was one of the first brands that I got to try and I consider it as a brand that gave me hope making me realize that there are products out there for sensitive skin. Here is my review on Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Mineral Base





In pressed or loose form, mineral makeup is highly versatile and multitasking.  A truly “4 in one” product , minerals can act as a sunscreen, foundation, setting powder and concealer all in one. It may be applied wet or dry. Jane Iredale Pressed minerals also include antioxidants such as pomegranate extract, pine bark, algae extract etc. to protect your skin from all the harsh elements in our environment. The pressed form also facilities easy portability making it travel-friendly. The option of buying refills makes it eco-friendly and cuts down on the product cost in the long run. The product is buildable and you can go from barely there to medium coverage by layering on more product. Great for sensitive skin with minimal ingredients that are also natural. Jane Iredale has also managed to eliminate ingredients such as bismuth oxycloride which has been considered as an irritant in mineral makeups so you don’t have to worry about that anymore. In my opinion, the word “foundation” or “makeup” doesn’t fit its image well because it’s more than just a makeup. To me, it’s much more closer to BB creams than foundations when it comes to its performance or functional qualities. If you have sensitive skin or hate the feel of traditional makeup then mineral makeup might be perfect for you. 


Mineral makeup has come a long way (read history here) and companies are constantly trying to improve the existing formulations to make it even better. For example, Bare Escentuals is coming up with their own version of pressed minerals (BareMinerals READY SPF20 Foundation) which is based on cold-pressed technology with antioxidants and skin nourishing ingredients such as algae, A, C E, rose hip seed oil etc. Read about it here

Also, Vogue created a beautiful advertorial spread featuring Jane Iredale which can be spotted in their latest September 2012 issue so look for it if you need to learn more about her and her philosophy. Read all about the feature here


Have you tried mineral makeup? What do you think of mineral makeup? Can’t wait to read your comments and views. 

“The most beautiful makeup of a woman is passion. But cosmetics are easier to buy.”
Yves Saint-Laurent
Heel in Mint

  36 comments for “Mineral Wise – Jane Iredale Pure Pressed Foundation Review

  1. August 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

    This is so cool you got to do this review and I should probably try mineral makeup more often. I feel like it makes skin look more natural and it seems healthier!

    Nice post & I hope you have a good weekend
    xoDale

    • August 27, 2012 at 4:53 am

      I believe it looks more natural and is healthier. I am pretty sensitive but this hasn’t caused any irritation so far. You should try it 🙂

    • August 5, 2014 at 12:51 am

      Thanks for sharing surpeb informations. Your site is very cool. I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this website. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched all over the place and simply could not come across. What a great web site.

  2. August 26, 2012 at 3:57 am

    i have tried mineral make-up, but it was awhile ago. i don’t remember whether it had sunscreen in it or not. i think i may need to try it again. 🙂

    • August 27, 2012 at 4:51 am

      They are more advanced now so you should try it again. All minerals have zinc oxide and titanium dioxide in them which are nothing but sun blocking ingredients. I don’t like makeup but this is something I don’t mind at all. 🙂

  3. August 26, 2012 at 4:21 am

    Fantastic…this review of your’s is amazing, i got to know about mineral makeup through this review.

    • August 27, 2012 at 4:54 am

      I am glad you got to know about minerals from this post. I hope you get a chance to try it. 🙂

  4. August 27, 2012 at 7:43 am

    This is so cool!!!kisses

  5. August 27, 2012 at 7:55 am

    Will it be suitable for oily skin?i am really tempted to try after reading this. 🙂

    Thanks for dropping in on my blog, just became your new follower.
    Hope you can support me too! ^_^

    http://www.elaine-ashire.com

    • August 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm

      It is perfect for oily skin..better than most products I have tried so far. Drier ones might need to prep with moisturizers and finish off with spray mists. Hope that helps 🙂

  6. August 27, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    It look great <3

  7. August 27, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    seems interesting. the oily skin problem has troubled me too, i have been using loréal lately, but this looks tempting.

    • August 27, 2012 at 7:30 pm

      This product has a matte look and perfect for oily skin in my opinion. Drier ones might need to prep well with moisturizers and after mists. 🙂

  8. August 28, 2012 at 6:20 am

    :)interesting !
    follow !

  9. August 28, 2012 at 7:36 am
  10. August 28, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Thanks babe for your advice! I will head to Sephora to ask for samples to test out ^_^

    • August 31, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      You are welcome! Hope you like it as much I do 🙂

  11. August 29, 2012 at 1:56 am

    I never tried this makeup, but after your review, I probably will:-) I like that it can be used dry and wet. Congrats on winning dear.
    xx
    Ask Erena

    • August 31, 2012 at 6:27 pm

      I like the wet-dry application feature too. It is a very versatile product IMO. 🙂

  12. QT
    August 29, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Interesting post! I like mineral products too 🙂

  13. August 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    I love mineral products and never heard of this one before but checking it out after your amazing review doll.

    <3 Marina
    Fashion.MakeUp.LifeStyle

    • August 31, 2012 at 6:29 pm

      I wouldn’t have either. It’s good to have nurse friends or doctors in the family 🙂

  14. August 29, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Great review!! I love mineral make-up!! I haven’t heard of this brand but I will look into it!

  15. August 29, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    ti seguo e spero ricambierai…
    http://www.5minutiearrivo.com/

  16. August 30, 2012 at 12:38 am

    Very interesting post!!!kisses

  17. August 30, 2012 at 2:33 am

    Awesome review!!! Mineral makeup is always to best for our skin!

    ang-closet365.blogspot.ca

  18. August 30, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks for the great review. I like that this makeup is weightless — It’s horrible when the makeup feels heavy on your skin.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  19. August 31, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Vacanze finite per me…purtroppo, felice fine settimana a te…ciao

    • August 31, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      It’s a labor day weekend for us so it’s a long one. Hope you have a great weekend too 🙂

  20. August 31, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  21. August 31, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    I used to wear mineral makeup but since I started using BB cream, I stopped. This product sounds like it has many great benefits though and I’m intrigued after reading your review. I attended an Allure event sponsored by Jane Iredale last fall and was quite impressed with their product range and natural ingredients.

    Enjoy the long weekend!
    Rowena @ rolala loves

    • August 31, 2012 at 6:42 pm

      I love BB creams too so it’s hard for me to compare them. I think they both are equally good..just depends on your needs. I don’t use makeup often so the product ends up staying with me for more than 2 years. Considering the fact that minerals in dry forms stay fresh for years, I think it’s a better choice for me 🙂

  22. August 31, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    Vacanze finite per me…purtroppo!!Buona serata e felice fine settimana a te…ciao

  23. August 31, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    Kisses my dear!!!

  24. September 1, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    I have tried this and their liquid mineral foundation. I liked the coverage this powder gives and how good it is for the skin, I still have the compact when I decide to repurchase the refill again.

  25. September 2, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Interesting post 😉
    nice day kiss kiss

Comments are closed.